Waiting for Snowflakes

Sugar Free January December 13, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — kristinakainz @ 10:23 pm

I put 4 pairs of pants on my dresser this morning that don’t fit.  I’ve been thinking about this for a while, but it is now solidified.  I will be having Sugar Free January.  Next it will be Grain Free February.  I’m starting with sugar as I believe I have the most control issues with that.  I’m also use food to sooth.  Ugh, I know, hard to admit, but I often buy a “treat” when  I grocery shop or am running errands.  I’m not always hungry, but feel like I need it or deserve it.  Pretty sure this stems from my youth and mom and I getting treats at the grocery store.  Or whenever.  Not a good habit.  ( on a side note, WordPress is raining snowflakes across my screen.  Fitting for the name of my blog.  And the fact that we have no snow.)  Anyhoo……..I’ve also been doing a lot of research on the primal or paleo way of eating and how bad grains are for us.  Mark’s Daily Apple is a great website to read. The basis is cut out sugar, grains, processed crap, and eat meat, vegetables, fruit, nuts and fats.  The exercise is lift heavy things, walk a lot and sprint sometimes.  Easy enough.  There is more involved, but you can read the book or website yourself.  It really makes it a struggle to go into my classrooms and teach them about whole grains, low-fat crap, and on and on.  Needless to say, I look for a new job daily.  Plus it would be nice to work year round and make more than I do.  But don’t we all want more money.  I’m going to try to limit both sugar and grains the rest of this month.  But hey, it’s Christmas time, and I like treats.  So there. 

On a bright note, my lovely friends the Zabels will be coming to visit on Friday.  And staying in Fergus.  No one stays in Fergus.  And we are eating at Stevelly’s.  YUMMO!!!

 

Leave a Reply

