Waiting for Snowflakes

JUMP June 1, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — kristinakainz @ 4:48 pm

Blogher does writing prompts every month to encourage people to write.  I’m not going to officially sign up, but this month’s theme is Jump, and it sounds like it could be a good one.  The prompt for today is, What is the first thing that pops into your mind when you hear the word jump?  The first thing that comes to mind is someone jumping into a pool on a hot summer day.  I was never a pool rat growing.  We lived in the country, it wasn’t exactly convenient.  But had I lived in town, I would have been there every day.  When we would stay at a hotel, I’d get in the pool when it opened and pretty much didn’t leave till it closed.  I always think it’s great fun to jump in a pool and play around.  Even at 32, I love pools, especially ones with water slides.  Make me feel like a kid again.  Also makes me think a trip to Kenosee would be fun. 

 

On a different note, I’ve been watching the Weight of the Nation, which is a documentary put on by HBO.  It can be watched for free here .  Now I of course don’t agree with all of the conventional wisdom, but it was a pretty good show.  In the Challenges episode, there are many graphs that show when obesity started to rise.  The 1980’s.  Now think about what the diet craze was in the 1980’s.  That’s right, low fat.  Which basically translated to high sugar and high carb.  You can’t take the fat out of a cookie and still have it taste good.  There was also someone quoted as saying that the US doesn’t grow enough fruits and vegetables to meet current dietary standards.  Sad.  So even if everyone in the country wanted to buy local fruits and veges and ate all they were supposed to, they couldn’t.  I say subsidise those poor fruit and vege farmers!  I would recommend watching it. 

 

Leave a Reply

